In Front Of The Viewfinder

Hi all,

Thought I’d post something a little different, today – I decided I would publish one of my poems! I have been published before, in both an online newspaper and in a poetry competition anthology (1, 2 or 3?!), but this particular one has never been seen in public. It is named ‘In Front Of The Viewfinder’ (hence the title of this post), and I wrote it for an in-school poetry competition; to my delight, it won my division! I won’t post what I wrote it about – I’d love to see what you think of it, regardless of what I thought – but I might put a synopsis at the end, if you like. I’ll quit babbling on about it – here is my poem.

 

IN FRONT OF THE VIEWFINDER

You hold your black camera up to your crystal-blue eye – in front of you is a fiery-orange maple-tree.
SNAP! You capture the picturesque piece of Autumn.

You step across the dewey, green grass – beads of water form on your black, leather boots. You bend down to photograph the need-of-cutting, wet lawn.
SNAP! You capture the dew-topped strips of green, in their early-morning, middle-of-the-year prime.

You cross the miniature field, and peer at a quince shrub, adorned with sugary-pink and holly-berry-red blossoms. You press the shutter-button.
SNAP! The sweet-looking flowers, erected on flimsy branches, are recorded forever, on a piece of film.

You walk across sandy-coloured pavers, to the other side of your garden. You glance at the terracotta pots in front of you. They stand against a worn, deteriorating brush fence. The pots, once filled with succulents and strawberry plants, are brimming with weeds and long-dead twigs. The heels on your boots pivot, you turn away. But you think: beauty is much more than what is in front of the viewfinder. You kneel down, in front of a sun-baked cactus.
SNAP! That’ll show the hypocrites, you think.

 

Well, there you go – as you will have probably gathered, it is about hypocrisy and beauty. The theme for the competion was, admittedly, ‘beauty’, so it was ever-so-slightly ‘written to order’, but it does reflect my views. Why should we reduce people to their beauty? Why should people be able to think that looks are all that matters? I actually wrote this poem in between classes – I was incredibly bored at school, and had plenty of time in between each period. But anyway,  I hope you liked it, and have a fab day! Good day sunshine 🙂

