Thank You Mr. Postman!

Look what came in the mail, yesterday!

Look what came in the mail, yesterday!

 

Well hello, all,

School’s out, now, and I have three glorious weeks of mid-term holidays ahead of me 🙂 ! I’m listening to my favourite Beatles album (Revolver) this session, and ‘Love You To’ is currently playing. Well, I’ll get on with what I should write about – let’s see if I can get off this particular tangent before ‘Here, There and Everywhere’ finishes!

(Above mission accomplished – be proud, John!)

A few weeks ago (whilst I was in Melbourne, in fact!) I was browsing Beatles-ville on Ebay, and I came across this little baby – a first-edition Canadian printing of The Beatles In Help!, as written by Al Hine. If you don’t already know, both A Hard Day’s Night and Help! were turned into short novels back when the films were released (oh, how I wish I could have been there!), and I imagine many a teenage girl would have purchased them. I already own an Australian printing of the A Hard Day’s Night edition – by chance, my mother purchased it, and then she discovered I was a Beatlemaniac; thus, I read it about two months until I actually saw the film – so I thought I would get the Help! version, too! My printing is Canadian, as well, which makes it extra-special here in Australia. I posted some pictures of it, below (excuse the fact that my hand is in the majority of them!):

The blurb

The blurb

The title page

The title page

The story thus far...

The story thus far…

A page of text - it's the bit where Ahme is behind Ringo's vending machine, and bites his finger (if you're interested)

A page of text – it’s the bit where Ahme is behind Ringo’s vending machine, and bites his finger (if you’re interested)

A couple of pictures from the eight-page spread of images in the middle of the book

A couple of pictures from the eight-page spread of images in the middle of the book

HELP! (another of the pictures in the middle of the book - excuse my bad photography, on this one...)

HELP! (another of the pictures in the middle of the book – excuse my bad photography, on this one…)

Well, there you go – my latest Beatles collectable in a nutshell! Hope you enjoy – might post a little excerpt from the text when I’ve finished reading it (I’m halfway through Chapter 5). I’m going to enjoy my first night of school holls, now – if you’re reading this in Adelaide, keep warm and beware of the storm that is supposedly coming! Regardless of where you’re from, though – have a good night (cue massive string orchestra) and good day sunshine! 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

