‘Through The Looking Glass’

 

The 'cover' of my 'debut single' (okay, not really my debut single...) - drawn/designed by moi!

The ‘cover’ of my ‘debut single’ (okay, not really my debut single…) – drawn/designed by moi! Was going to upload it today, but WordPress won’t let me… Oh, and Sadie Rigby is my proposed stage-name (my real name being too susceptible to mispronunciations) – guess which two Beatles tunes I drew inspiration from!

 

Well – I thought it was about time I published another poem! This one is called ‘Through The Looking Glass’, and is about – you guessed it – the Lewis Carroll classic, Alice Through The Looking Glass. I wrote this one for the ‘Art and Poetry’ division of a “academic gala day” called the da Vinci Decathlon. It involves ten divisions (hence the event name), including engineering, maths (or ‘mathematics’), English, philosophy, science, code-breaking, cartography, acting, general knowledge and – obviously – art and poetry (don’t ask me why poetry wasn’t in English…). I wasn’t involved in the science/maths-related tasks (much stronger in more creative/wordy/arty/musical subjects…), but I helped out with English, philosophy, acting, general knowledge and – again, obviously – art and poetry. In the general knowledge division, one of the questions was ‘Name the Beatles album about a tour’ (Magical Mystery Tour – and it’s not even a proper studio album (it was only released in the US at first), as I pointed out on the bus trip back to school, that day), to my delight! But – back on topic – I wrote the poem for the art and poetry bit (the theme of which was ‘Through The Looking Glass’) to order, so I feel know I can do better, but I’m quite proud of it (if I say so myself!). Oh, and my school won the Art and Poetry, and came third overall! I quoted ‘Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds’ for a couple of lines, so see if you can spot what parts I am referring to. Here it is:

 

Through The Looking Glass

Hair the colour of freshly-fallen snow,

A dress of sapphire-blue sky;

The ‘angel’ trips and slips through the glass –

‘Agh,’ she screams as she plummets down,

through blatantly-beastly black.

Our ‘angel’ awakes amongst chaos and magic –

‘ROAR,’ yells the lion, ‘splat’ cracks the egg.

Marmalade trees, kaleidoscope eyes,

Newspaper taxis, marshmallow pies.

A cloud of ruby-coloured royalty sashays through the land;

A tart in her palm, a dagger in her sleeve.

In a midst of fury, she thrusts it at the picturesque young girl;

‘Help!’ she cries as she draws her last breath.

The glass that was the entry to this world, shattered by murder.

The angel’s once-blue dress now stained with the colour of fire.

 

So there you go – a poem that is about two months old and quite obviously written to order, but I don’t mind it at all (otherwise it wouldn’t be up here!). Now, I was going to post my cover of ‘Norwegian Wood’, but it looks like WordPress want me to purchase a ‘Space Upgrade’ to enable me to post M4a files. Well, WordPress – I’ll get you back, some day! Back on topic, though – hope you enjoyed my poem, and good day sunshine! 🙂

 

 

 

