My Favourite Pictures of John W. Lennon

Any guesses who my favourite Beatle is?? Well, I think it's been said before on here...

Any guesses who my favourite Beatle is?? Well, I think it’s been said before on here…

Well, good morning, good morning (or afternoon…or evening…) to all who are reading!

Still beautiful weather here in Adelaide! It was slightly cold during the week, but it has warmed up again for the weekend. Tomorrow it’s meant to be 25, but then it goes back down to 17 for the rest of the week. But this next week’s going to be good, ‘cos it’s my birthday on Thursday! Yes, I was born on the 11th of September… But ‘Love Me Do’ was recorded that day in 1962, and recording for With The Beatles and filming for Magical Mystery Tour commenced in ’63 and ’67, respectively, and it’s Ethiopian New Year, too. Not just the 9/11 anniversary. But anyway…

I realised that my favourite Beatle does not have a post just about him, yet! Sorry, John… So I thought I’d do this! As you might assume, about half of the Camera Roll on my iPad is made up of Beatle-y photos, and of course for photos of just one of the boys, John takes up the most memory (not that I care!)! In fact, quite a bit of my iPad memory is taken up by Beatles stuff, whether that be actual music or photos or random things I’ve written about them or PDFs on them… 🙂 But here we are – my favourite pictures of my favourite idol in (you guessed it) a nutshell! Oh, and this post will only include one David Bailey shot (‘cos they have their own post), and only one of him in my favourite brown suede Rubber Soul jacket, ‘cos that might get a post titled ‘The Rubber Soul Jacket Appreciation Society’ soon.

 

I found this one the other day, whilst looking for pictures for an ICT project on the Beatles Bible. My ICT teacher is also an avid Beatles fan, so he encouraged me to make my assignment on the lads!

I found this one the other day, whilst looking for pictures for an ICT project on the Beatles Bible. My ICT teacher is also an avid Beatles fan, so he encouraged me to make my assignment on the lads!

 

Oh my - I love this picture! It's from my beloved 'Help!' period (he's even wearing the outfit he wore in the Salisbury Plains scene), and even though I love him for his music and intelligence first and foremost, I must say he's really attractive here... :-)

Oh my – I love this picture! It’s from my beloved ‘Help!’ period (he’s even wearing the outfit he wore in the Salisbury Plains scene), and even though I love him for his music and intelligence first and foremost, I must say his looks are really done justice here… 🙂 Oh, and those sunglasses…

 

Okay - you must think I have an obsession with that green corduroy! My obsession lays with his brown suede 'Rubber Soul' jacket (because of which I bought a beige corduroy jacket that looks just like it) and his batwing coat from 'Help!' (because of which I bought a navy cape from Vinnies), but I do love this outfit. I think it may have been shot whilst filming the intermission of 'Help!', and looks like someone's a bit tired...

Okay – you must think I have an obsession with that green corduroy! My obsession lays with his brown suede ‘Rubber Soul’ jacket (because of which I bought a beige corduroy jacket that looks just like it) and his batwing coat from ‘Help!’ (because of which I bought a navy cape from Vinnies), but I do love this outfit. I think it may have been shot whilst filming the intermission of ‘Help!’, and looks like someone’s a bit tired! I don’t blame him…

 

This photo was part of a photo-shoot with Brian Duffy in 1965. It is probably one of my favourite photos of him, along with David Bailey's stuff. Interestingly, I only found out the other day that he took some of the most famous pictures of David Bowie ever taken!

This photo was part of a photo-shoot with Brian Duffy in 1965. It is probably one of my favourite photos of him, along with David Bailey’s stuff. Interestingly, I only found out the other day that Duffy took some of the most famous pictures of David Bowie ever taken!

 

I love this picture! It was taken by Bob Whitaker (a fellow Aussie!) in 1965 - like most of these photos. As I said above, it's my birthday on Thursday, and I might be getting his book!  I love so many pictures of John. I think there might need to be a Part Two to this post soon!

I love this picture! It was taken by Bob Whitaker (a fellow Aussie!) in 1965 – like most of these photos. As I said above, it’s my birthday on Thursday, and I might be getting Whitaker’s book! John with a daisy over one of his gorgeous eyes is too cute! This is my avatar on thebeatles.com.
I love so many pictures of John. I think there might need to be a Part Two to this post soon!

 

image

I can find no information whatsoever about this picture, but that just makes it even more intriguing! I can see it was taken in 1968 (hairstyle and Yoko pictures), but that’s all I really know about it. I think it may have been taken in an art studio at some point – there are calligraphy pens and a large amount of paper on the table – but I guess I won’t ever know. I wonder if the ‘Sgt. Pepper’ drumhead is the original featured on the album cover?

 

I also discovered this whilst browsing the Beatles Bible the other day. Interestingly, the negatives for this only surfaced three years ago. I really like this proof-sheet - in fact, you may have noticed a pattern that I like pretty much any picture of any Beatle taken in 1965. Especially John...

I also discovered this whilst browsing the Beatles Bible the other day. Interestingly, the negatives for this only surfaced three years ago. I really like this proof-sheet – in fact, you may have noticed a pattern that I like pretty much any picture of any Beatle taken in 1965. Especially John…

 

Brown suede jacket time! Taken whilst recording my second-fave album, 'Rubber Soul'!

Brown suede jacket time! Taken whilst recording my second-fave album, ‘Rubber Soul’!

 

This was, in fact, my avatar for quite some time. A still from the Paperback Writer/Rain promo videos, thus taken in 1966.

This was, in fact, my avatar for quite some time. A still from the Paperback Writer/Rain promo videos, thus taken in 1966.

 

Like the mysterious art studio (?) picture above, this was taken in 1968, and John seems to be trying to decide what 45 to play next!  Mum found this on my favourite record shop's Facebook page, and sent it to me a couple of months ago - thanks!

Like the mysterious art studio (?) picture above, this was taken in 1968, and John seems to be trying to decide what 45 to play next! Mum found this on my favourite record shop’s Facebook page, and sent it to me a couple of months ago – thanks!

 

This picture was on the cover of LIFE magazine some time ago, and that's all Google will tell me. I know, however, that it was taken in 1965. Thank you to nymfan97 (a big hello to you if you're reading) for posting this on your blog! I - in fact - drew a pencil portrait of John from this picture, which I a) am quite proud of, and b) must post on here sometime.

This picture was on the cover of LIFE magazine some time ago, and that’s all Google will tell me. I know, however, that it was taken in 1965. Thank you to nymfan97 (a big hello to you if you’re reading) for posting this on your blog! I – in fact – drew a pencil portrait of John from this picture, which I a) am quite proud of, and b) must post on here sometime. Nice to see my favourite Beatle shares an appreciation of red polo-necks with me!

 

Like the LIFE cover picture, I first saw this on nymfan97's blog! I was just reading some of her archived posts, and I saw this picture again. I'd forgotten how I love it. It was taken in February 1965, whilst filming 'Help!' in the Bahamas

Like the LIFE cover picture, I first saw this on nymfan97’s blog! I was just reading some of her archived posts, and I saw this picture again. I’d forgotten how I love it. It was taken in February 1965, whilst filming ‘Help!’ in the Bahamas. John has the loveliest smile – when I post more pictures of John at some point, I must post more of him grinning.

 

Yes, 1965 again. Also found on the Beatles Bible. I thought for quite some time that this was taken in Stu Sutcliffe's studio, without realising that John was not in Germany in 1965, and thus could not have visited Stu's widow Astrid and photographed in her house. Further research revealed that it was, in fact, taken in John's own Weybridge home in his attic art studio.

Yes, 1965 again. Also found on the Beatles Bible. I thought for quite some time that this was taken in Stu Sutcliffe’s studio, without realising that John was not in Germany in 1965, and thus could not have visited Stu’s widow Astrid and photographed in her house. Further research revealed that it was, in fact, taken in John’s own Weybridge home in his attic art studio.

 

Aww! :-) I think this might be the earliest picture in this post. I think it was taken in mid-to-late '64. But regardless of when it's from, John with a stuffed panda is almost unbearably cute!

Aww! 🙂 I think this might be the earliest picture in this post. I think it was taken in mid-to-late ’64. But regardless of when it’s from, John with a stuffed panda is almost unbearably cute!

 

And now for my all-time favourite shot of John! Yes, I know David Bailey took it, but it must feature in this post. I love just about everything in this photo... It also reminds me of The John Lennon Letters, one of my first Beatle-y ventures in the literary world. This is also my current avatar.

And now for my all-time favourite shot of John! Yes, I know David Bailey took it, but it must feature in this post. I love just about everything in this photo… It also reminds me of The John Lennon Letters, one of my first Beatle-y ventures in the literary world. This is also my current avatar.

 

So there you go! Some utterly gorgeous pictures of Dr Winston O’Boogie, and my musings on them.

(And now for a couple of other things…)

I’m a recording musician! I set up a Soundcloud account last weekend, and uploaded a cover of ‘I’m Only Sleeping’ on it. My stage/alter-ego name is Sadie of Kirkcaldy, taken from two Fabs songs – ‘Sexy Sadie’ (Sadie) and ‘Cry Baby Cry’ (of Kirkcaldy). I plan on uploading a more sophisticated cover of ‘Dear Prudence’ – using my brand new Fender Acoustasonic amp which I got yesterday for John, my gorgeous acoustic-electric guitar – and some of my own self-written songs (once I’ve got a melody for them) on there soon, so please follow me and share with your friends! My account can be found at http://souncloud.com/sadie-of-kirkcaldy , and please listen to my song below, which I’ll embed right now.

Oh, and for the Aussies reading, Nowhere Boy was on SBS1 last night. Nowhere Boy covers the story of John’s teenage years (with some artistic license), and whilst many fans didn’t like it, I love it. It’s very, very sad (I got a bit misty-eyed near the end), but I would recommend it to any Beatles/Lennon fan. Again on SBS1, tonight a documentary called Becoming The Beatles will be on at 10:05 pm, so look out for it!

Good day sunshine for now! 🙂

