Standin’ In The Garden, Listening To ‘Watching Rainbows’

The bootleg this post will revolve around. I don't own it (yet...naughty bootleg-buying me!), but I know the song well, and love it dearly.

The bootleg this post will revolve around. I don’t own it (yet…naughty bootleg-buying me!), but I know the song well, and love it dearly.

Well, yay! It’s finally holidays again! Two lovely weeks of freedom! I thought I’d do a short thing today (‘Huh?’ I bet you’re thinking. ‘tangerinetrees99 absolutely does not do short!’ Well tangerinetrees is going to prove she can – and yes, she did just feel a sudden urge to refer to herself in the third person) on something that deserves its own post, so here goes.

Those of you who read my post from two weeks ago, My Twelve Favourite Beatles Lead Guitar Parts (you can read it here), will know I mentioned a song called ‘Watching Rainbows’. I’m pretty sure I said I’d do a post on it, so here it is!

In short, I. Love. This. And I think it should have been released, either in this form or in a different, re-recorded version. But anyway – here’s some background info:

‘Watching Rainbows’ was recorded in midst of the Get Back sessions – Wikipedia has supplied me with the exact date, which is the 14th of January, 1969. This was, in fact, recorded without George, as he had temporarily quit the band during this period. George’s absence explains the lack of bass, as Paul was on lead guitar. As you will hear, it is John’s song, so he is obviously on vocals and on that GORGEOUS electric piano. Ringo (again, just slightly obviously. I hope you are good at seeing sarcasm in print) is on drums.

You may recognise a couple of riffs. The first one of these is at the start, and sounds a bit like the main riff of ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’. (The riff was later used in ‘I Know (I Know)’ off Mind Games, for all you Lennonites like myself out there!)

Did you know that ‘Watching Rainbows’ was in fact the origin of this riff? There are three songs that make up ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’ – obviously Paul’s, well, ‘I’ve Got A Feeling’, Johns’ ‘Everybody Had A Hard Year’ and ‘Watching Rainbows’! A riff that sounds similar to ‘Hey Bulldog’ is also used at the end. Other songs that ‘WR’ is often associated with include ‘I Am The Walrus’ (‘WR’ has the line ‘Standin’ in the garden, waitin’ for the English sun to come and make me brown’ – ‘IATW’ has the lines ‘Sitting in an English Garden waiting for the sun / if the sun don’t come you get your tan from sitting in the English rain’) and ‘Mean Mister Mustard’, which was rehearsed directly before.

‘Watching Rainbows’ has been widely bootlegged, and was in fact the title of a 1978 bootleg album of Get Back outtakes! But I’m not here to promote bootlegging (that would be, erm, illegal). But here’s the song, and here are the lyrics, directly copied (with some spelling/grammar fix-ups from me) from lyricsmode.com (yes, they had the lyrics to an obscure Beatles bootleg!). Make sure you listen to it, as it is an absolutely amazing song, and incredibly good for a random Threetles jam!

Standin’ in the garden, waitin’ for the sun to shine /
Hand my umbrella, with this dirt – I wish she was mine /
Everybody doves, think a thing; it didn’t come /
Instead of watching rainbows, I’m gonna make me some /
Instead of watchin’ rainbows, I’m gonna make me some /
Standin’ in the garden, waitin’ for the English sun to come and make me brown so I can be someone /
Lookin’ at the bench of next door neighbours /
Cryin’ to my mum, I’m tryin’ to set sabres /
Everybody’s got to have something hard to grow /
Well, instead of watching rainbows under the sun /
You gotta get out son, and make you one /
You gotta get out son, and make you run /
Because you’re not gonna make it if you cry, cry, though /
Shoot big!
Shoot big!
Whatever you do, you gotta kill somebody to get what you wanna get /
You gotta shoot big!
You gotta shoot big!
Until you shoot big /
I can’t stand.

So there you go. Enjoy!

And just to finish off, you may or may not know that iTunes have released a free EP called 4: John, Paul, George, Ringo to go along with their brand-new Beatles solo-career masters! The tracks are as follows: ‘Love’ (John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band, from their 1970 self-titled album), ‘Call Me Back Again’ (Paul McCartney and Wings, from their 1975 album, Venus and Mars), ‘Let It Down’ (George Harrison, from his 1970 triple-album All Things Must Pass) and ‘Walk With You’ (Ringo Starr, from his 2012 album Y Not). John and George have the best tracks by far (well, I have to confess I actually haven’t heard the other two tracks, but as a general rule, John and George’s solo careers are the best out of the four), but it’s free! I downloaded it last night, and be sure to do so too! I believe it’s only free for a limited time…

Oh, and Dhani Harrison recently played a version with his band (NOT thenewno2) of his dad’s ‘Let It Down’ (also featured on that EP!). I really like it – and gosh, he sounds a lot like George! Here it is:

Good day sunshine! 🙂

